Senate Urban Affairs – Roster 2009

David Adelman, 42nd, Chairman 121-I State Capitol Atlanta, GA 30334 Phone: (404) 463-1376

John Wiles, 37th, Vice Chairman 323-A CLOB Atlanta, GA 30334 Phone: (404) 657-0406

Ronald B. Ramsey, Sr., 43rd, Secretary 320-B CLOB Atlanta, GA 30334 Phone: (404) 463-2598

Gail Buckner, 44th 313-A CLOB Atlanta, GA 30334 Phone: (404) 463-5260

Gloria Butler, 55th, Ex-Officio 420-C State Capitol Atlanta, GA 30334 Phone: (404) 656-0075

Vincent Fort, 39th, Ex-Officio 305-B CLOB Atlanta, GA 303334 Phone: (404) 656-5091

Steve Henson, 41st 121-J State Capitol Atlanta, GA 30334 Phone: (404) 656-0085

Judson Hill, 32nd 325-B CLOB Atlanta, GA 30334 Phone: (404) 656-0150

Emanuel Jones, 10th 327-A CLOB Atlanta, GA 30334 Phone: (404) 656-0502 **District Office:** P.O. Box 1231 Decatur, GA 30031 Phone: (404) 853-8206

District Office: 800 Kennesaw Avenue, Suite 400 Marietta, GA 30060-7946 Phone: (770) 426-4619

District Office: 5271 Snapfinger Woods Dr Decatur, GA 30035 Phone: (404) 281-9948

District Office: 1834 Carla Drive Morrow, GA 30260 770-473-9039 (O)

District Office: 6241 Southland Trace Stone Mountain, GA 30087

District Office: P.O. Box 42967 Atlanta, GA 30311 Phone: (404) 753-3163

District Office: 2643 Sterling Acres Drive Tucker, GA 30084 Phone: (404) 243-5107

District Office: 3102 Raines Court Marietta, GA 30062 Phone: (770) 234-5378

District Office: P.O. Box 370244 Decatur, GA 30037 Phone: (770) 964-8888 Nan Orrock, 36th 327-B CLOB Atlanta, GA 30334 Phone: (404) 463-8054

Kasim Reed, 35th 420-D State Capitol Atlanta, GA 30334 Phone: (404) 463-1379

Valencia Seay, 34th 420-B State Capitol Atlanta, GA 30334 Phone: (404) 656-5095

Doug Stoner, 6th 121-E State Capitol Atlanta, GA 30334

Phone: (404)-463-2518

Horacena Tate, 38th 110-C Capitol Atlanta, GA 30334 Phone: (404) 463-8053

Curt Thompson, 5th 323-A CLOB

Atlanta, GA 30334 Phone: (404) 463-1318 **District Office:** 1070 Delaware Avenue, SE Atlanta, GA 30316 Phone: (404) 524-5999

District Office: 1755 Loch Lomond Trail Atlanta, GA 30331 (678) 852-9982 (C)

District Office: P.O. Box 960008 Riverdale, GA 30274 Phone: (770) 909-9912

District Office: P.O. Box 1781 Smyrna, GA 30081 Phone: (770) 436-0699

District Office: 201 Joseph E. Lowery Boulevard, NW Atlanta, GA 30314 Phone: (404) 577-5609

District Office: 630 Glenbrook Drive Tucker, GA 30084 Phone: (404) 575-2223

Senate Urban Affairs Committee Rules

Introduction:

Each member of the Committee should be mindful of the Senate Rules especially regarding attendance.

- 1. All meetings of the Committee shall be open to the public in accordance with the Senate.
- 2. A Quorum of the Committee shall be seven (7) members.
- 3. The Chairman shall determine which bills and resolutions are to be considered and the order in which said measures are considered.
- 4. The Chairman shall have the authority to refer bills and resolutions to subcommittees for study. Such subcommittees in turn shall have the authority to make recommendations on such measures to the full Committee at such time as shall be designated by the Chairman.
- 5. The Committee shall convene, recess, and adjourn upon the order of the Chairman.
- 6. A bill or resolution will be considered only after presentation by its principal author or other legislator whose name appears first or second on the list of authors or co-sponsors, unless the author or co-sponsor has made other arrangements with the Chairman.
- 7. Precedence of motions shall be as set out in the Senate Rules.
- 8. No member of the Committee shall be allowed to vote by proxy.
- 9. Members may not abstain from voting unless the member or any member of the Senator's immediate family has a direct pecuniary interest in the result of such vote which interest is distinct, unique or peculiar to the Senator or the Senator's immediate family.
- 10. Any member or members of the Committee who disagree with the majority report of the Committee shall be privileged to file a minority report if they so desire.
- 11. These rules may be amended upon a motion duly made and subsequently approved by two-thirds of the members of the Committee.
- 12. Where these rules are silent on a specific issue, the Rules of the Senate as adopted shall govern.

MINUTES OF THE SENATE URBAN AFFAIRS COMMITTEE Tuesday, February 17, 2009

The Senate Urban Affairs Committee held its first meeting of the 2009 Session on Tuesday, February 17th, in room 455 (Mezzanine 1) of the Capitol. Chairman David Adelman called the meeting to order at 4:05 p.m. Members present at the meeting were as follows:

Senator David Adelman, 45th, Chairman Senator Gail Buckner, 44th Senator Gloria Butler, 55th, Ex-Officio Senator Vincent Fort, 39th, Ex-Officio Senator Emanuel Jones, 10th Senator Nan Orrock, 36th Senator Valencia Seay, 34th Senator Doug Stoner, 6th Senator Horacena Tate, 38th Senator Curt Thompson, 5th

After welcoming Senator Gail Buckner to the Urban Affairs Committee, Chairman Adelman reviewed the agenda. Chairman Adelman asked the Committee to review the Senate Urban Affairs Rules. Senator Stoner made a motion to adopt the Rules and Senator Jones seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously and the 2009 Rules were adopted.

Next, Chairman Adelman advised the Committee of the only piece of legislation to consider, <u>SB 89</u>. This bill, authored by Senator Butler, removes the statutory prohibition of the consumption of food or beverage in a rapid rail station or intermodal bus stations. However, <u>SB 89</u> also allows individual public transit systems the option to adopt policies prohibiting food or beverage in their stations.

Chairman Adelman turned the floor over to Senator Butler and asked her to present the bill. Senator Butler thanked all the members for attending the meeting. Senator Butler specifically noted two points in her presentation: 1) MARTA is excited about the bill. According to Sen. Butler, MARTA supports the bill because they would like to offer eating establishments and refreshments to their patrons. Currently, MARTA cannot allow food and beverages to be sold in their stations due to the statutory prohibition. 2) Senator Butler emphasized that the sale of wine and beer will not be allowed at any MARTA stations.

Senator Butler concluded her presentation and asked for the Committee's favorable vote on **SB 89**.

Chairman Adelman opened the floor for comments. Rhonda Briggins-Ridley, Senior Director of External Affairs and Scott Haggard, Director of Government and Constituent Relations for MARTA both rose in support of the bill.

Senator Fort inquired if MARTA had considered how they would handle the possibility of increased litter due to the sale of food and beverages.

Senate Urban Affairs Committee Page 2 of 2 February 17, 2009

Former Committee Member, Senator Weber, was present. Senator Weber suggested a friendly amendment to change the wording "its stations" to "such station," so as to allow MARTA the option to adopt policies prohibiting the sale of food and beverages on a station by station basis. Senator Butler agreed such language would improve the bill and it was amended by unanimous consent.

Chairman Adelman entertained a motion on <u>SB 89</u>. A motion of *Do Pass by Substitute* was made by Senator Tate and seconded by Senator Fort. The bill passed 10-0 in favor of Do Pass by Substitute.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 4:20 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

/s/ Senator David Adelman, Chairman

/s/ Karla Johnson, Recording Secretary