SENATE COMMITTEE ON REAPPORTIONMENT AND REDISTRICTING MEMBERS

2017 LEGISLATIVE SESSION

Sen. Ben Watson, M.D., Chairman

District 1 1326 Eisenhower Drive, #2 Savannah, GA 31406

Sen. William Ligon, Jr., Vice-Chairman

District 3 158 Scranton Connector Brunswick, GA 31525

Sen. Horacena Tate, Secretary

District 38 121-A State Capitol Atlanta, GA 30334

Sen. Matt Brass

District 28 P.O. Box 1313 Newnan, GA 30264

Sen. Bill Cowsert

District 46 P.O. Box 267 Tyrone, GA 30290

Sen. Vincent Fort

District 39 121-J State Capitol Atlanta, GA 30334

Sen. Marty Harbin

District 16 215 Greencastle Road Tyrone, GA 30290

Sen. Ed Harbison

District 15 121-J State Capitol Atlanta, GA 30334

Sen. Steve Henson

District 41 2643 Sterling Acres Drive Tucker, GA 30084

Sen. Hunter Hill

District 6 2451 Cumberland Parkway Suite 3439 Atlanta, GA 30339

Sen. David Shafer

District 48 P.O. Box 880 Duluth, GA 30096

MINUTES OF THE SENATE COMMITTEE ON REAPPORTIONMENT AND REDISTRICTING

January 30, 2017

The Senate Committee on Reapportionment and Redistricting met on Monday, January 30, 2017 at 4:00 p.m., in Room 307 of the Coverdell Legislative Office Building.

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Sen. Ben Watson (1st), Chairman

Sen. William Ligon, Jr. (3rd), Vice-Chairman

Sen. Matt Brass (28th)

Sen. Bill Cowsert (46th)

Sen. Vincent Fort (39th)

Sen. Ed Harbison (15th)

Sen. Steve Henson (41st)

NOTE: Sen. Horacena Tate (38th), Secretary, Sen. Marty Harbin (16th), Sen. Hunter Hill (6th), and Sen. David Shafer (48th) were absent.

The meeting was called to order at 4:00 p.m. by Chairman Watson (1st).

The proposed Committee Rules were reviewed. Chairman Watson (lst) proposed amending the Committee quorum from eight (8) members to six (6) members.

Sen. Ligon, Jr. (3rd) made a motion to adopt the Committee Rules, amending the Committee quorum from eight (8) members to six (6) members. Sen. Harbison (15th) seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously (6-0). A copy of the Rules is attached.

With no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 4:08 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

/ s / Sen. Ben Watson (1st), Chairman

/ s / Phyllis Williams, Recording Secretary

2017 Rules Senate Committee on Reapportionment and Redistricting

- 1. The quorum for the Committee shall be six (6) members.
- 2. The Committee shall convene, recess, and adjourn upon the order of the Chairperson.
- 3. The Chairperson shall determine measures to be considered and the order in which such measures are considered.
- 4. The Rules of the Senate shall prevail in all matters not covered by these Committee Rules.
- 5. All amendments to legislation in the Committee shall be delivered to the Chairperson no later than 24 hours prior to any called meeting of the Committee, unless the meeting is called on 24-hour notice, in which event amendments must be delivered to the Chairperson no later than 12 hours prior to the meeting.
- 6. These Committee Rules may be amended upon motion duly made and seconded and subsequently approved by two-thirds (2/3) of the members of the Committee, provided that written notice has been given to the Chairperson 24 hours prior to the Committee Meeting.

MINUTES OF THE SENATE COMMITTEE ON REAPPORTIONMENT AND REDISTRICTING

February 27, 2017

The Senate Committee on Reapportionment and Redistricting met on Monday, February 27, 2017 at 5:00 p.m., in Room 307 of the Coverdell Legislative Office Building.

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Sen. Ben Watson (1st), Chairman

Sen. William Ligon, Jr. (3rd), Vice-Chairman

Sen. Horacena Tate (38th), Secretary

Sen. Matt Brass (28th)

Sen. Ed Harbison (15th) (Arrived late)

Sen. Steve Henson (41st)

Sen. Hunter Hill (6th)

NOTE: Sen. Bill Cowsert (46th), Sen. Vincent Fort (39th), Sen. Marty Harbin (16th), and Sen. David Shafer (48th) were absent.

Chairman Watson (1st) called the meeting to order at 5:01 p.m.

SR 6 (Sen. Elena Parent, 42nd, LC 28 8145ER) Citizens' Redistricting Commission; establishment, qualifications, and appointment of members; provide - CA

NOTE: Sen. Harbison (15th) arrived at 5:11 p.m.

Sen. Parent (42nd) presented the resolution to the Committee.

Sen. Josh McKoon (29th) spoke in favor of the resolution.

Public speakers spoke in favor of the resolution:

Henry Siegelson, M.D., Emmet Bondurant, Christopher Bruce-ACLW, Maria Palacious-GALEO, Kelli Persons-LWVAA, Robert Reagin and Sean Bokelmann.

SR 6 HEARING ONLY

SR 7 (Sen. Elena Parent, 42nd, LC 28 8146) Reapportionment; legislative and congressional; provide procedures and standards - CA

Sen. Parent (42nd) presented the resolution to the Committee.

Public speakers spoke in favor of the resolution:

Henry Siegelson, M.D., Emmet Bondurant, Christopher Bruce-ACLW, Maria Palacious-GALEO, Kelli Persons-LWVAA, Robert Reagin and Sean Bokelmann.

SR 7 HEARING ONLY

With no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 6:05 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

/ s / Sen. Horacena Tate (38th), Secretary

/ s / Phyllis Williams, Recording Secretary

MINUTES OF THE SENATE COMMITTEE ON REAPPORTIONMENT AND REDISTRICTING

March 24, 2017

The Senate Committee on Reapportionment and Redistricting met on Friday, March 24, 2017 at 8:00 a.m., in Room 307 of the Coverdell Legislative Office Building.

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Sen. Ben Watson (1st), Chairman

Sen. William Ligon, Jr. (3rd), Vice-Chairman

Sen. Horacena Tate (38th), Secretary (Arrived late)

Sen. Matt Brass (28th)

Sen. Bill Cowsert (46th) (Arrived late)

Sen. Vincent Fort (39th)

Sen. Marty Harbin (16th)

Sen. Ed Harbison (15th)

Sen. Steve Henson (41st)

Sen. Hunter Hill (6th)

Sen. David Shafer (48th)

Chairman Watson (1st) called the meeting to order at 8:05 a.m. Sen. Ligon, Jr. (3rd) began the meeting with a prayer.

HB 515 (Rep. Johnnie Caldwell, Jr., 131st, LC 28 8417S) State house districts; revise boundaries of a certain district

Chairman Watson (1st) called on Rep. Caldwell (131st) to speak to the new substitute (LC 28 8507S).

NOTE: Sen. Cowsert (46th) arrived at 8:54 a.m.

Public speakers spoke against the bill.

Henry Siegelson, MD, Helen Butler, Jerry Gonzalez-GALEO, Tom Berry, Justin Garman, Andrea Young-ACLU, Arthur Murphy, Marti Brean, Carlos S. Moreno, and Janet Best

Sen. Ligon, Jr. (3rd) made a motion **DO PASS BY SUBSTITUTE** (**LC 28 8507S**). Sen. Brass (28th) seconded the motion. The motion passed 6-4. The yea votes were Sen. William Ligon, Jr., (3rd), Sen. Matt Brass (28th), Sen. Bill Cowsert (46th), Sen Harbin (16th), Sen Hill (6th), and Sen. Shafer (48th). The nay votes were Sen. Tate (38th), Sen. Fort (39th), Sen. Harbison (15th), and Sen. Henson (41st). Sen. Watson (1st) will be the Senate sponsor.

HB 515 DO PASS BY SUBSTITUTE LC 28 8507S

Having no further business, Chairman Watson (1st) adjourned the meeting at 9:10 a.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

/ s / Sen. Horacena Tate (38th), Secretary

/ s / Phyllis Williams, Recording Secretary

April 6, 2017

Mr. David Cook Secretary of the Senate 353 State Capitol Atlanta, GA 30334

Dear Mr. Cook:

I return herewith to the Office of the Secretary of the Senate, the following bills which were not acted upon in the Senate Committee on Redistricting and Reapportionment during the 2017 Legislative Session:

SR 6 SR 7

Respectfully submitted,

Phyllis Williams Senate Redistricting and Reapportionment Recording Secretary