### THE SENATE COMMITTEE ON SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY 2018 MEMBERS

### Sen. Bruce Thompson, Chairman

District 14 25 Hawks Branch Lane White, GA 30184

### Sen. Lee Anderson, Vice-Chairman

District 24 160 Louisville Road Grovetown, Ga 30813

### Sen. Brandon Beach, Secretary

District 21 3100 Brierfield Road Alpharetta, GA 30004

#### Sen. Jennifer Jordan

District 6 P.O. Box 19884 Atlanta, GA 30325

### Sen. Kay Kirkpatrick

District 32 2146 Roswell Road Marietta, GA 30062

### Sen. Valencia Seay

District 34 P.O. Box 960008 Riverdale, GA 30274

### THE SENATE COMMITTEE ON SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY 2018 RULES

- 1. All meetings of the Committee shall be open to the public in accordance with Senate Rule [1-5-1].
- 2. The quorum for the Science and Technology Committee shall be four (4) members.
- 3. The Chairman shall determine which bills and resolutions are to be considered and the order in which said measures are considered; the Chairman shall have the authority to call a bill, resolution, substitute or amendment for debate and explanation only.
- 4. The Chairman shall have the sole authority to refer bills and resolutions to Subcommittees for study. Such Subcommittees, in turn, shall have the authority to make recommendations on such measures to the full Committee. All actions of any Subcommittee shall be approved or disapproved by the standing Committee.
- 5. The Committee shall convene, recess and adjourn upon the order of the Chairman.
- 6. The Chairman reserves the right to delay action on substitutes and amendments not provided to the Chairman at least 48 hours prior to the hearing.
- 7. Any member or members of the Committee who disagree with the majority report of the Committee shall be privileged to file a Minority report in writing, setting forth concise reasons for their dissent.
- 8. These Rules may be amended or waived upon a motion duly made and subsequently approved by a quorum of the Committee, in a meeting called by the Chairman.
- 9. A bill, resolution, or other matter will be considered only after presentation by its principal author or a legislator whom he or she has designated to do so. In the event that more than one member of the General Assembly has signed a measure, the principal author shall be the one whose name appears first in the list of authors.
- 10. When these Rules are silent on a specific issue, the Rules of the Senate, as adopted, shall govern.

# MINUTES OF THE SENATE COMMITTEE ON SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY January 30, 2018

The Senate Committee on Science and Technology held a meeting on Tuesday, January 30, 2018 at 2:00 p.m. in Room 307 of the Coverdell Legislative Office Building. The following Senators were in attendance:

Sen. Bruce Thompson (14th), Chairman

Sen. Lee Anderson (24th), Vice-Chairman

Sen. Jennifer Jordan (6th)

Sen. Kay Kirkpatrick (32nd)

Sen. Valencia Seay (34th) (Left early)

**NOTE:** Sen. Brandon Beach (21st) was absent.

Chairman Thompson (14th) called the meeting to order at 2:01 p.m.

**NOTE:** Senator Valencia Seay (34th) left at 2:11 p.m.

*The Committee received testimony from:* 

### John Kimberly, Senior Systems Engineer, Centrify Corporation

John provided an overview of Centrify Corporation and how the company provides data protection security to its customers. He emphasized the importance of multifactor authentication to protect online information, and encouraged the committee to take note of the importance of protecting the public from cyber hacking.

With no further business, Chairman Thompson (14th) adjourned the meeting at 2:27 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

/s/ Sen. Bruce Thompson (14th), Chairman

/s/ Hallie Huskins, Recording Secretary

# MINUTES OF THE SENATE COMMITTEE ON SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY February 13, 2018

The Senate Committee on Science and Technology held a meeting on Tuesday, February 13, 2018 at 2:00 p.m. in Room 307 of the Coverdell Legislative Office Building. The following Senators were in attendance:

Sen. Bruce Thompson (14th), Chairman

Sen. Lee Anderson (24th), Vice-Chairman

Sen. Brandon Beach (21st), Secretary

Sen. Valencia Seay (34th)

**NOTE:** Sen. Jennifer Jordan (6th) and Sen. Kay Kirkpatrick (32nd) were absent.

Chairman Thompson (14th) called the meeting to order at 2:02 p.m.

Sen. Brandon Beach (21st) made a motion to adopt the 2018 Rules as presented to the Committee. Sen. Valencia Seay (34th) seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously. A copy of the Rules is attached.

The Committee received testimony from:

.

#### Jeremie Beaudry, Compliance, Legal, & Regulatory Affairs Director, BitPay Inc.

Jeremie gave a presentation on virtual currency and its impact on society. He explained the connection between Bitcoin and BitPay's ability to bridge the gap between common monetary currencies, such as the US Dollar, and virtual currencies, such as Bitcoin.

## Debra Lam, Managing Director of Smart Cities and Inclusive Innovation for the Institute for People and Technology

Debra gave a presentation on smart community development in Georgia. She focused on the involvement of Georgia Institute of Technology to help find innovative ways to develop research and operations in building smart communities in Georgia. One of their biggest projects is establishing technology to allow autonomous vehicles to operate safety.

With no further business, Chairman Thompson (14th) adjourned the meeting at 2:50 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

/s/ Sen. Brandon Beach (21st), Secretary

/s/ Hallie Huskins, Recording Secretary

April 3<sup>rd</sup>, 2018

Mr. David Cook Secretary of the Senate 353 State Capitol Atlanta, Georgia 30334

Dear Mr. Cook:

I return herewith to the Office of the Secretary of the Senate, the following bills which were not acted upon in the Senate Committee on <u>Science and Technology</u> during the <u>2018</u> Legislative Session:

S.R. 318 [LC 43 0626]

S.R. 570 [LC 36 3419ER]

Sincerely,

Bruce Thompson Senate District 14

Senate Committee on Science and Technology