SENATE COMMITTEE ON INTERSTATE COOPERATION 2019 MEMBERS

Sen. Donzella James, Chairman

District 35 P.O. Box 311225 Atlanta, GA, 30331

Sen. Freddie Powell Sims, Vice-Chairman

District 12 5377 Goose Hollow Road Dawson, GA, 31742

Sen. Emmanuel Jones, Secretary

District 10 P.O. Box 370244 Decatur, GA, 30037

Sen. Ed Harbison

District 15 P.O. Box 1292 Columbus, GA, 31902

Sen. Jen Jordan

District 6 P.O. Box 19884 Atlanta, GA, 30325

SENATE COMMITTEE ON INTERSTATE COOPERATION RULES--2019 LEGISLATIVE SESSION

- 1. A quorum of the Committee shall be 3 members.
- 2. The Chairman shall determine which bills and resolutions are to be considered and the order in which said measures are considered.
- 3. The Chairman shall have the authority to refer bills and resolutions to Subcommittees for study. Such Subcommittees in turn shall have the authority to make recommendations on such measures to the full Committee at such time as shall be designated by the Chairman.
- 4. The Committee shall reconvene, recess, and adjourn upon the order of the Chairman.
- 5. A bill or resolution will be considered only after presentation by its principal author or other legislator whose name appears first or second on the list of authors or co-sponsors, unless the author or co-sponsor has made other arrangements with the Chairman.
- 6. No member of the Committee shall be allowed to vote by proxy.
- 7. Members may not abstain from voting unless the member or any member of the Senator's immediate family has a direct pecuniary interest in the result of such vote, which interest is distinct, unique or peculiar to the Senator or the Senator's immediate family.
- 8. Any member or members of the Committee who disagree with the majority report of the Committee shall be privileged to file a minority report if they so desire.
- 9. These Rules may be amended upon a motion duly made and subsequently approved by two-thirds of the members of the Committee.
- 10. Where these Rules are silent on a specific issue, the Rules of the Senate as adopted shall govern.

Minutes of the Senate Committee on Interstate Cooperation Thursday, February 28, 2019

The Senate Committee on Interstate Cooperation held a meeting at 2:30 p.m. on February 28, 2019 in Room 125 of the State Capitol.

Chairman Donzella James (35th) called the meeting to order at 2:47 p.m. The following members were in attendance:

Sen. Donzella James (35th), Chairman

Sen. Freddie Powell Sims (12th), Vice-Chairman

Sen. Ed Harbison (15th)

NOTE: Sen. Emanuel Jones (10th), Secretary, and Sen. Jennifer Jordan (6th) were absent.

Chairman James (35th) welcomed everyone to the meeting. She then discussed Committee Rules. After discussion of Committee Rules, and with no objection, the Committee voted unanimously to adopt the Rules. They appear on the preceding page.

HR 51 (Morris, 26th) LC 28 9061ER: Creating the Joint Georgia-North Carolina and Georgia-Tennessee Boundary Line Commission; and for other purposes.

Rep. Marc Morris (26th) presented the bill. After presenting the bill, a question was asked by Sen. James (35th) regarding an error within the bill when it was introduced last session. Rep. Morris (26th) clarified the error within the bill. Senator Harbison (15th) then moved to "Do Pass", and it was seconded by Sen. Sims (12th). The Committee voted 2-0 to "Do Pass".

Sen. Harbison (15th) and Sen. Sims (12th) voted for the bill.

Committee Recommendation: HR 51 DO PASS

Chairman James (35th) adjourned the meeting at 2:57 p.m.

Rep. Morris (26th) named Sen. Greg Dolezal (27th) as the Senate sponsor for the bill.

Respectfully submitted,

/s/ Sen. Donzella James, 35th, Chairman

Jenny Guadalupe, Recording Secretary

Minutes of the Senate Committee on Interstate Cooperation Wednesday, March 13, 2019

The Senate Committee on Interstate Cooperation held a meeting at 4:00 p.m. on March 13, 2019 in Room 125 of the State Capitol.

Chairman James (35th) called the meeting to order at 4:05 p.m. The following members were in attendance:

Sen. Donzella James (35th), Chairman

Sen. Freddie Powell Sims (12th), Vice-Chairman

Sen. Jennifer Jordan (6th)

NOTE: Sen. Emanuel Jones (10th), Secretary, and Sen. Ed Harbison (15th) were absent.

Chairman Sen. James (35th) welcomed everyone to the meeting. Sen. Matt Brass (28th), who was in attendance to speak on behalf of the bill, led the Committee in prayer.

<u>HB 553</u> (Dempsey, 13th) LC 33 7902S: Relating to the membership of the State Victim Services Commission and the bill of rights for foster parents, respectively, so as to delete references to an obsolete entity; to provide for related matters; to repeal conflicting laws; and for other purposes.

Rep. Katie Dempsey (13th), with assistance from Sen. Brass (28th), presented the bill. After presenting the bill, a question was asked by Sen. James (35th) regarding the removal of the Renal Advisory Committee from the language of the bill. Sen. Brass (28th) affirmed the removal of that entity as it is no longer active. Sen. James (35th) then opened the floor for questions. With no questions asked, Senator James called for a motion be made on the bill. Sen. Jordan (6th) moved to "**Do Pass**", with Sen. Sims (12th) seconding. The Committee voted **2-0** to "**Do Pass**".

Sen. Jordan (15th) and Sen. Sims (12th) voted for the bill.

Committee Recommendation: HB 553 DO PASS

Chairman James (35th) adjourned the meeting at 4:11 p.m.

Rep. Dempsey (13th) named Sen. Brass (28th) as the Senate sponsor for the bill.

Respectfully submitted,

/s/ Sen. Donzella James, 35th, Chairman

Jenny Guadalupe, Recording Secretary