SENATOR LINDSEY TIPPINS District 37 303-A Coverdell Legislative Office Building 18 Capitol Square, S.W. Atlanta, Georgia 30334 Tel: (404) 657-0406 Lindsey.Tippins@senate.ga.gov



COMMITTEES: Education and Youth, Chairman Administrative Affairs Appropriations Natural Resources and Environment Transportation

The State Senate

Atlanta, Georgia 30334

February 14, 2017

MEETING NOTICE AND AGENDA

TO: <u>Senate Education and Youth Committee</u>:

Senator John Wilkinson, 50th, Vice Chairman Senator Freddie Powell-Sims, 12th, Secretary Senator Ellis Black, 8th Senator Matt Brass, 28th Senator Donzella James, 35th Senator Fran Millar, 40th Senator Elena Parent, 42nd Senator Iesse Stone, 23rd Senator Horacena Tate, 38th **Senator Lindsey Tippins, 37th, Chairman**

Date: Wednesday, February 15, 2017

Time: 2:00-3:00pm

Place: 307 CLOB

FROM:

UPDATED AGENDA:

- A message from the Superintendents

- Jeff Rose, Fulton County
- Bubba Longgrear, Candler County
- Mike Newton, Jasper County
- Jeff Wilson, White County

Hearing Only

- SB 149 (Senator Jones, 10th) LC 41 1006 – Relating to employment and training of peace officers, so as to provide for training requirements, penalties, rules and regulations for school resource officers

- SB 150 (Senator Jones, 10th) LC 33 6869 – Loitering at or Disrupting Schools; written agreements between local boards of education and law enforcement officials; provide provisions

- SR 192 (Senator Wilkinson, 50th) LC 28 8144 – General Assembly; election of local school superintendents; local boards of education by grand juries as alternative to appointment; authorize

*** The chairman reserves the right to change the agenda.***

forther to rippins

Lindsey Tippins

CC:

Casey Cagle, Lt. Governor David Cook, Secretary of the Senate Senator David Shafer, President Pro Tempore Senator Bill Cowsert, Majority Leader Senator Steve Henson, Minority Leader Irene Munn, Lt. Governor's Office Betsy Howerton, Legislative Council Natalie Quaranto, Senate Budget Office Laura Messier, Secretary of Senate Office Ines Owens, Senate Press Hayley Howell, Governor's Office Julia Ayers, Governor's Office Andrew Allison, Senate Press Steve Tippins, President Pro Tem's Office Jeff Jeter, Minority Leader's Office Angie Fiese, Senate Research