### SENATOR LINDSEY TIPPINS

District 37
303-A Coverdell Legislative Office Building
18 Capitol Square, S.W.
Atlanta, Georgia 30334
Tel: (404) 657-0406
Lindsey.Tippins@senate.ga.gov



#### **COMMITTEES:**

Education and Youth, Chairman
Administrative Affairs
Appropriations
Natural Resources and Environment
Transportation

# The State Senate

Atlanta, Georgia 30334

March 14, 2017

# **MEETING NOTICE AND AGENDA**

TO: Senate Education and Youth Committee:

Senator John Wilkinson, 50th, Vice Chairman Senator Freddie Powell-Sims, 12th, Secretary

Senator Ellis Black, 8th Senator Matt Brass, 28th Senator Donzella James, 35th Senator Fran Millar, 40th Senator Elena Parent, 42nd Senator Jesse Stone, 23rd Senator Horacena Tate, 38th

FROM: Senator Lindsey Tippins, 37th, Chairman

Date: Wednesday, March 15, 2017

Time: 2:00- 4:00pm Place: 307 CLOB

## **AGENDA:**

**HB 224 (Rep. Belton, 112th) HB 224/FA** – Quality Basic Education Act; military student may attend any school in local system; provide

**HB 338 (Rep. Tanner, 9th) expected substitute** – Education; system of supports and assistance for low-performing schools in greatest need; provisions

**HB 430 (Rep. Brockway, 102nd) LC 33 6982S** – Governor's Education Reform Commission; charter schools; implement recommendations

**HB 463 (Rep. Dempsy, 13th) LC 33 6946** – Early Care and Learning, Department of; establish nonprofit corporation to qualify as a public foundation; authorize

**Note**: The Chairman may also take action on other bills assigned to the Senate Education Committee.

\*\*\* The chairman reserves the right to change the agenda.\*\*\*

Senten to rippins

### **Lindsey Tippins**

CC: Casey Cagle, Lt. Governor

David Cook, Secretary of the Senate Senator David Shafer, President Pro Tempore Senator Bill Cowsert, Majority Leader Senator Steve Henson, Minority Leader Irene Munn, Lt. Governor's Office Betsy Howerton, Legislative Counsel Natalie Quaranto, Senate Budget Office Laura Messier, Secretary of Senate Office Ines Owens, Senate Press Hayley Howell, Governor's Office Julia Ayers, Governor's Office Andrew Allison, Senate Press Steve Tippins, President Pro Tem's Office Jeff Jeter, Minority Leader's Office Megan Andrews, Senate Research