

GEORGIA STATE SENATE SENATE RESEARCH OFFICE

204 Coverdell Legislative Office Building | 404.656.0015 18 Capitol Square SW Atlanta. GA 30334 ELIZABETH HOLCOMB DIRECTOR

MEMORANDUM

Date: September 24, 2020 (Revised December 18, 2020)

To: Members of the Senate Study Committee on Law Enforcement Reform

From: Alexander J. Azarian

Re: Nationwide Minimum Training Hours for Law Enforcement

The attached table identifies the minimum number of hours each state requires for basic peace officer training (Basic Training) as well as continuing professional training (In-Service Training).¹

Summary of Findings

Basic Training Hours

- The nationwide average of minimum hours for Basic Officer Training is **646 hours**;
- Georgia currently mandates the second fewest hours for Basic Training by requiring recruits to complete **408 hours** of training. This is just ahead of Oregon, which requires its cadets to complete at least **400 hours** of Basic Training;
- Connecticut requires its recruits to complete 22 weeks of Basic Officer Training totaling **1,340 hours** in its current September 2020 Basic Training Class. This represents the highest amount of minimum number of required hours in the nation;
- Minnesota does not operate a law enforcement academy and is the only state that requires its recruits to possess at least an Associate's degree prior to entering Basic Training. This degree program is referred to as the Program of Professional Peace Officer Education (PPOE) and offered at many technical and community colleges throughout the state. Its **1,050 hours** of Basic Training represents the second-highest number of required hours in the nation, but this figure is an approximation and includes college credit hours; and
- Hawaii is the only state that does not mandate a minimum number of hours for Basic Training.

In-Service Training

- The nationwide average of minimum hours for In-Service Training is **22 hours**;
- Georgia currently requires each peace officer to complete at least 20 hours of In-Service Training each year;
- Eight states (Illinois; Kansas; Kentucky; Massachusetts; New York; Rhode Island; Tennessee; and Utah) require their peace officers to complete at least **40 hours** of In-Service Training annually, which is the highest number of hours required by any state;
- Alaska requires its peace officers to complete **6 hours** of In-Service Training, the lowest of any state; and
- Hawaii and Michigan are the only states that do not mandate a minimum number of hours for In-Service Training.

¹ It is important to remember that the hours identified here are the minimum required. Most individual agencies require additional training hours. For example, most agencies require recruits to complete several weeks or months of field training after completion of Basic Training. Likewise, many agencies require their officers to complete more than the minimum 20 hours of in-service training required by the state.

Minimum Law Enforcement Training Hours by State

STATE	BASIC TRAINING HOURS	ANNUAL IN-SERVICE TRAINING HOURS	NOTES ON IN-SERVICE TRAINING
Alabama	520	12	
Alaska	650	6	
Arizona	585	8	
Arkansas	520	16	At least 1 hour of racial profiling training.
California	664	24 hours every 2 years	Required courses include 2 hours of de-escalation training as well as 4 hours each of arrest and control; driving; and firearms or force options simulator. Other required courses: domestic violence every 2 years; first aid/CPR every 2 years; racial profiling/racial diversity every 5 years.
Colorado	556	24	At least 12 hours total in arrest control; driving; and firearms.
Connecticut	1340	60 hours every 3 years	At least 3 hours de-escalation; 9 hours of firearms/use of force; 2 hours rape crisis; 2 hours domestic violence; 3 hours human relations (including serious mental illness); 1 hour juvenile law; 7 hours police and the law; 2 hours patrol procedures; 1 hour gang violence; 1 hour bias/bigotry.
Delaware	584	16	Plus firearms, CPR, defibrillator, Taser certification. Additionally, a sexual assault course once every 4 years and 1 hour every 3 years on child sexual abuse.
Florida	770	40 hours every 4 years	Stun gun every year; Firearms every 2 years; Human diversity, Use of Force, domestic violence, juvenile sex offender and racial profiling every 4 years.
Georgia	408	20	2 hours community policing. 3 hours of firearms training which must include: de-escalation; and firearms proficiency.
Hawaii	*	*	There is currently no minimum statewide standard for training in Hawaii.
Idaho	600	40 hours every 2 years	
Illinois	560	40	Must include de-escalation; civil rights; constitutional and proper use of law enforcement authority; cultural competency; human rights; law update; procedural justice; and use of force.
Indiana	600	24	Must include 2 hours in firearms; 2 hours in physical tactics/use of force; and 2 hours in police vehicle operation. Officers are also required to receive training in de-escalation; mental disorders; addiction; missing persons; human trafficking; domestic violence; child abuse; sudden infant death syndrome; and various first aid – But no minimum hours are specified.
lowa	544	36 hours every 3 years	Hours do not include annual firearms proficiency or CPR certification.
Kansas	560	40	
Kentucky	800	40	
Louisiana	450	20	8 hours of firearms; 4 hours of defensive tactics/officer survival; 2 hours of legal updates; 6 hours of electives.
Maine	720	40 Hours every 2 years	Must include 2 hours of de-escalation and 10-12 hours on specific topics that change every year.
Maryland	750	18	Must include at least 1 hour of de-escalation and firearms training every year. Sexual abuse; victims' services; and identity fraud victims' rights every 3 years. CPR every 2 years.
Massachusetts	900	40	Includes firearms qualification and CPR. Specific course requirements change every year. For 2020 they include: Legal updates (6 hours); Procedures, Protocols, and Considerations for Investigations Involving Animals (3 hours); Police Survival (3 hours); and Defensive Tactics classroom and skills (6 hours).
Michigan	594	*	Only mandatory training is firearms proficiency. The state does set advisory training standards: officer safety; communication; emergency vehicle operations; defensive tactics; legal update; and mental disorders.
Minnesota	1050 (Requires an Associate's Degree for Recruits)	48 hours every 3 years	Training must include: Crisis intervention and mental illness crises; Conflict management and mediation; and Recognizing and valuing community diversity and cultural differences to include implicit bias. Officers are also mandated to train annually in use of force and once every 5 years in emergency vehicle operations/pursuit driving.
Mississippi	490	24	

STATE	BASIC TRAINING HOURS	ANNUAL IN-SERVICE TRAINING HOURS	NOTES ON IN-SERVICE TRAINING
Missouri	600	24	Must include 1 hour racial profiling; 2 hours mental health; 2 hours officer well-being; 2 hours implicit bias recognition; 2 hours de-escalation; and 2 hours firearms.
Montana	480	18	
Nebraska	626	20	
Nevada	680	12	Plus biannual firearms qualification; show proficiency in arrest and control/defensive tactics; show proficiency with any issued less lethal weapon; review agency's use of force policy; and show proficiency in carotid restraint/lateral vascular neck restraint if duties require.
New Hampshire	640	8	Plus firearms proficiency; use of force; first aid and CPR certificate renewal; and defensive tactics refreshers.
New Jersey	880	7	4 hours mandatory training on domestic violence every year. At least 1 hour each of firearms proficiency; use of force; and vehicular pursuit are also required each year.
New Mexico	677	40 hours every 2 years	Must include 4 hours in safe pursuit; 1 hour in domestic violence incident training 2 hours in hate crimes; 1 hour annual training in ensuring child safety upon arrest; 4 hours of day and night firearms training; 2 hours in child abuse incident annual training; 1 hour in missing persons and Amber alert training; 2 hours in interaction with persons with mental impairments training; 30 minutes in tourniquet and trauma kit annual training; 2 hours in legal update training; and remaining training hours must be in maintenance or advanced areas to meet the agencies specific needs.
New York	700	40	
North Carolina	640	24	The required courses are updated annually. For 2020 these courses are: Firearms Training and Qualification (4 hours); Legal Update (4 hours); Long Term Effects of Childhood Adversity (2 hours); Armed/Unarmed Security/Company Police: Understanding Their Roles and Authority (2 hours); Suicide Prevention Education and Awareness (2 hours); Career Survival: Training and Standards Issues (2 hours); Communication Strategies When Encountering Persons Who are Deaf or Hard of Hearing (2 hours); and 6 hours of electives.
North Dakota	480	60 hours every 3 years	Plus annual firearms proficiency.
Ohio	737	24	
Oklahoma	600	25	Training must include 1 hour on mental health issues. Training must also include the policies and protocols for responding to sexual assault calls; guidelines for the collection and maintenance of sexual assault kits; and trauma-informed sexual assault response and intervention "on a regular basis."
Oregon	400	84 hours every 3 years	Must include 8 hours of either firearms or use of force and 1 hour ethics training each year. 3 hours mental health/crisis intervention training every 3 years. First Aid/CPR certification must be continuously maintained.
Pennsylvania	859	12	Must include 3 hours of legal update training. First Aid/CPR certification must be continuously maintained.
Rhode Island	892	40	Training in hate crimes; gangs; domestic violence; and mental health/substance abuse emergencies required by statute.
South Carolina	488	40 hours every 3 years	Must include 1 legal update course and 1 domestic violence course.
South Dakota	520	40 hours every 2 years	Must include training on the following issues pertaining to domestic abuse: enforcement of criminal laws in domestic abuse situations; availability of community resources; and protection of the victim. After initial training, an officer must attend further domestic abuse training at least once every four years. Every officer must requalify with duty handgun every year.
Tennessee	480	40	Must include child sexual abuse; emergency vehicle operation; and 8 hours of firearms proficiency.
Texas	728	40 hours every 2 years	Training must include legal update. A 'basic peace officer' must also take Crisis Intervention Training (8 hours); Special Investigative Topics (8 hours); & Cultural Diversity (8 hours). A course in Human Trafficking is also required but no hours are specified.
Utah	600	40	
Vermont	640	30	Includes firearms re-qualification; use of force training; First Aid/CPR; and biennial domestic violence training.
Virginia	480	40 hours every 2 years	Must include 2 hours cultural diversity, and 4 hours legal update training.

STATE	BASIC TRAINING HOURS	ANNUAL IN-SERVICE	NOTES ON IN-SERVICE TRAINING
		TRAINING HOURS	
Washington	720	24	Must include a 2-hour Crisis Intervention Training online course.
West Virginia	600	16	Plus annual firearms proficiency.
Wisconsin	720	24	Includes annual handgun proficiency and 4 hours vehicle pursuit every other year.
Wyoming	600	40 hours every 2	During the first two years after initial certification, officers must complete 80 hours in 2 years.
		years	
National	646	22	
Average Hours	(49 State Average)	(48 State Average)	