#### **ELLIS BLACK**

District 8
303-B Coverdell Legislative Office
Building
18 Capitol Square, SW
Atlanta, GA 30334
Phone: (404) 463-6597

E-mail: Ellis.Black@senate.ga.gov



#### **COMMITTEES:**

Retirement, Chairman
Agriculture & Consumer Affairs, Secretary
Appropriations
Education and Youth
Finance, Ex-Officio

# The State Senate

Atlanta, Georgia 30334

# MEETING NOTICE AND AGENDA

To: Senate Retirement Committee

Senator Chuck Hufstetler,  $52^{\rm nd}$ , Vice Chairman

Senator Tonya Anderson, 43<sup>rd</sup>, Secretary

Senator Jack Hill, 4<sup>th</sup>, Ex-Officio Senator Gail Davenport, 44<sup>th</sup> Senator Randy Robertson, 29<sup>th</sup> Senator Nikema Williams, 39<sup>th</sup>

From: Senator Ellis Black, 8th, Chairman

Date: March 13, 2019 Time: 4:00 PM

Place: Senate Mezzanine

### Agenda:

HB 196 LC 43 1298ERS (Benton, 31st): relating to general provisions relative to retirement and pensions, so as to require each public retirement system trustee to complete appropriate education applicable to his or her fiduciary duties and obligations under the public retirement system; to provide for definitions; to provide for removal of trustees who fail to obtain such education; to provide for related matters; to repeal conflicting laws; and for other purposes

HB 319 LC 43 1162 (Williams, 148<sup>th</sup>): relating to retirement, retirement allowances, disability benefits, and death benefits relative to the Georgia Firefighters' Pension Fund, so as to provide that a member's benefits payable after death shall be paid to his or her estate when such member failed to designate a beneficiary or his or her designated beneficiaries are deceased; to provide for related matters; to repeal conflicting laws; and for other purposes.

# \*\*\*The chairman reserves the right to change the agenda\*\*\* overnor Laura Messier, Secretary of Senate Office

CC: Geoff Duncan, Lt. Governor
David Cook, Secretary of the Senate
Senator Butch Miller, President Pro Tempore
Senator Mike Dugan, Majority Leader
Senator Steve Henson, Minority Leader
Beth Green, Lt. Governor's Office
Blake Travis, Legislative Council

Elton Davis, Senate Budget Office

Ines Owens, Senate Press Stuart Wilkinson, Governor's Office Elizabeth Holcomb, Senate Research Laurin Vonada, Senate Research Steve Tippins, President Pro Tem's Office Jeff Jeter, Minority Leader's Office Andrew Allison, Senate Press